Smart Liberal and Female


Facebook….UGH
September 2, 2012, 7:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

I held off getting Facebook until a few months ago this year.  I had tried the MySpace thing, and easily bored with it.  I recently was hired by a client to do a Facebook page for them, and in doing so I found it very hard to see what the page would look like from a visitors perspective.  Thus why I created my own page.  I found myself unable to stop looking at it.  I think it may in a way be addictive.  

Over the last couple of weeks I have watched with wonder as “friends” of mine have posted likes to Paul Ryan, Mitt Romney, and other various republican candidates.  I would shake my head in disgust and move on.  To be fair, I too have posted political bits, or liked the President’s page.  I’m wondering now if they were shaking their head in wonder and disgust as well.

What finally put me over the edge was a friend had liked or posted (can’t remember which) a page that said something to the affect of “Click like and reply Amen if you want to see Christian values restored to the United States like our forefathers intended.”  Now this may seem like a pretty mild statement, I was puzzled and surprised to see her supporting this.  I then went into the comments section – big mistake as this was around 12:00 AM and left me seething in bed for nearly 2 hours.  Comments like “Amen Throw that bum Obama out” or “Hard to do with a Muslim President” and “Amen. Obama sucks.”  Very Christian of them.  There were a considerable number of simple “Amens” as well and a few rational comments thrown in.   One witty person asked “What about the Jews?”

As I laid there seething, I found myself getting ready to send my friend a scathing message about our founding fathers, why many immigrated to America in the first place, and things like this were exactly why I am hesitant to call myself a Christian.  I could go on and on about this, but I’ll spare everyone the lecture.  I also felt the urge to say the President IS a Christian you giant jackass, but that isn’t the point.  What if he wasn’t???  Would it really matter?  Are we so intolerant of other religions and religious beliefs that we think by labeling someone a Muslim that makes them a bad person??  

Needless to say, something rational in me kicked in and I simply deactivated my page.  As I mentioned this to a friend today, she liked Facebook to the days of the gladiators.  It’s a place where everyone gathers, they shout out nonsense, and bully to the death.  

So…so long Facebook.  For my personal sanity and sleep I bid you adieu.  

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

