Smart Liberal and Female


Clinton to Replace Clinton???
December 1, 2008, 7:18 pm
Filed under: election 2008, politics, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

With Senator Hillary Clinton accepting the position as Secretary of State New York is in need of a new senator.  Some are saying Bill should pick up the reigns.  I’m not so sure about that though…those are pretty big shoes to fill. 

This seems a little bizarre to me, but hey it’s politics…right?  Which makes me wonder…has a President ever come back to be a Senator?  Naturally I decided to google this.  I gotta say, I love google.  I didn’t find anything except a list of Senators who’ve become President…

Anyone know for sure???

http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/12/01/clinton.replacement/index.html?iref=mpstoryview

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Just when we thought our national nightmare was over, Clinton comes back (it doesn’t matter which one. They are both dreadful). But I digress.

John Quincy Adams served for 17 years in the House of Representatives, after his presidency ended. He is the only one to have done so. I am 98.9% certain that no other president has served in Congress after his presidency ended.

Comment by Colleen

Well I find both Clinton’s to be fantastic…but thanks for the trivia!

Comment by smartandfemale

My husband just informed me that Andrew Johnson was the only President to run for Senate and win…which makes me wonder if others have run and lost.

I guess I could look it up, but I’m guessing his brainy ass will already know the answer…so I’ll wait and so will you!

Comment by smartandfemale

Hmm… I’ve wondered about that too. Glad y’all told me. I think probably after being the pres, most people are about ready to call it quits with politics. I imagine its a pretty stressful job, especially in this day and age.

Comment by phoenixofdiscordia




Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

