Smart Liberal and Female


Good Reading…

So I mentioned earlier that I bought Obama’s book, “The Audacityof Hope”.  I am really enjoying it.  I chuckled to myself reading about the clipped conversations between him and his wife.  Not that I enjoyed their troubles, but the fact that they seemed to have had some of the same issues my family has had.  My husband works in politics, and is gone what seems to be ALL the time!  We do pretty good for a while, and then whammo it really hits the fan.  I’ll admit I get tired of being a single working housekeeping married woman!  Then I become short tempered and bitter.  I begin to rail at a husband I truly love.  It begins a game of listing everything the other person has ever done wrong.  We all know where that leads…no where good!  Apparently Michelle Obama had some frustration with that as well, and it made the soon to be First Couple a little more real to me!  All I could think of was, take that frustration, add two lawyers to the mix, and imagine what their arguments must have been like!

As I read on, I came to this great quote.  It is something I’ve thought about or complained about a million times these last 8 years. 

“I imagine they (the American people) are waiting for a politcs with the maturity to balance idealism and realism, to distinguish between what can and cannot be compromised, to admit the possibility that the other side may sometimes have a point.  They don’t always understand the arguments between the right and left, conservative and liberal, but they recognize the difference between dogma and common sense, responsibility and irresponsibility, between those things that last and those that are fleeting.”

“They are out there, waiting for Republicans and Democrats to catch up with them.”

How many of us have felt that way?  How many of us are so frustrated with the political system and sniping we either find ourselves incredibly angry or have just completely disengaged?  Too many of us, for sure.  I myself am guilty of being angry and hateful at times.

I am hoping he leads with the thoughtfulness of the beginning of his book.  We can only wait and see.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

