Smart Liberal and Female


Veteran’s Day Wrap…
November 11, 2008, 10:38 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Today was the day designated after WWI to thank all of those who had served, as we were reminded today.   We were also reminded that WWI was the war that was supposed to end all wars.  The world could have only hoped. 

I had the great honor of spending the day at my daughter’s school for their celebration of Veteran’s Day.  Many times I could feel the tears welling in my eyes.  I thought of the friends I made that will be with me forever, and the friends no longer with us.  I thought of the sleepless nights, days at sea, paint I chipped, and times that seemed unbearably hard.  And you know what, I wouldn’t change a minute of it for anything. 

I have a few good friends that are still serving:  Sheila (my best friend since A school) – may your up coming trip to the Gulf be as boring as the last and to Jeff – Be safe!  And take some pictures of those pirates, Zo would get a kick out of that!  I know you’d rather be back in Iraq or on your way to Afghanistan, but I for one am grateful (I’m sure you’re wife is too) that you’re on a ship this trip. 

I’ve posted a link below that allows you to find your fellow/former servicemembers.  I hope you enjoy, I know I have.

http://www.togetherweserved.com/

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

In America, we enjoy the freedom of giving half our income to the government through various forms of taxes. We have the freedom to participate in a Ponzi scheme known as Social Security. We have the freedom to vote for the president. Unlike the voters of Iraq under Saddam Hussein, who only had one choice for president, we have two choices! We have the freedom to choose between Republican-led big government programs and Democrat-led big government programs. We have the freedom to use government-controlled money, which loses value every year. We have the freedom to subsidize the poltically-connected agricultural, automotive, and banking industries. We have the freedom of sending children through the compusory government-run education system, and then pay for job training for those that get through 12 years of schooling and still don’t know how to do anything. We have the freedom to own guns, provided that said gun is approved by the government and we pass the government-mandated background check. If we get the appropriate permits and stand in then proper free-speech zone, we have the freedom to protest.

Thanks to all the veterans that defended these freedoms and kept them from being taken away!

http://www.lewrockwell.com/blog/lewrw/archives/023944.html

Comment by disinter




Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

