Smart Liberal and Female


Gerry Connolly for Congress

I live in Northern Virginia, you may remember it as not being part of “real Virginia”.  However, it’s pretty real to me.  It’s home!  We have an open seat for Congress this year.  Tom Davis (Republican) of Virginia’s 11th District is not running this year.  Hip hip Hooray!

If Mr. Connolly wins it will be the first time a Democrat has held this seat in over 40 years.  These are exciting times for me! 

http://gerryconnolly.com/

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/10/23/AR2008102303003.html

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hate to tell you this but the seat was held by a Democrat in the early 1990s…less than 20 years ago…It hasn’t been over 40 years at all as you suggest. Leslie Bryne (who ran against Gerry Connolly is this year’s Democratic primary by the way) represented the 11th congressional for one term before Tom Davis beat her in 1994 or 1995. And…though I am not sure about this…the seat actually didn’t exist before Byrne held it…I am pretty sure Bryne won it when it was a newly created congressional seat…making the seat not even 20 years old…let alone 40 years old.. though again…. I could be wrong…

There haas been at least one redrawing of the 11th district lines….I know Tom Davis lost some of the more Democratic areas of Fairfax County inside the beltway when congressional districts were tweaked …In exchange, Davis picked up more of Prince William County…which possibly means that whereever you live hasn’t been represented by a congressional Democrat in quite some time…but I would doubt it has been 40 years…

Comment by Julie

You are correct. I apparently am unable to add. Where I live was originally part of the VA 10th District. Which was held by a Republican for nearly 30 years. I also didn’t realize a Dem held this seat prior to Tom Davis. Thank you for pointing that out.

I will say still exciting, considering it’s been over a decade…that sound better?

Comment by smartandfemale




Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

