Smart Liberal and Female


The Palin Factor
October 15, 2008, 9:17 pm
Filed under: election 2008, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Okay.  So Sarah Palin has evoked many emotions in Americans.  Especially women.  I can remember getting the text from my husband to see who McCain had picked.  I text back “Just tell me”.  So he sent Palin.  I had thought he was being lazy or mistyped and meant Palenti.  I said big deal.  So he sent it again, with an order to open the news.  So I did.

Holy shit.  Sorry for the language, but that was my reaction.  Now I know there are many people who had no idea who Sarah Palin was, and not that I blame them!  I however am a big Sunday morning tv watcher.  Probably one of the only times I watch tv.  We often sit with coffee and watch the political shows.  We’d watched a documentary about her and they’d hinted she may be a pick.  I can remember laughing. 

Well needless to say when I saw the announcement I was no longer laughing.  I was in shock.  It was a Friday, and I was having lunch with my husband.  He happens to be a Republican.  We try not to talk politics…or he does (I often cross the line and rant and rave).  That was one lunch that was nothing but politics.  We were both in shock. 

I immediately shot off an email to some of my Clinton supporter friends to gage their reaction.  First question I got back was what’s her standing on a woman’s right to choose.  Well we all know Sarah Palin is 100% pro-life.  She also is against sex education.  I could go for the cheap shot here, but I’ll control myself.  Anyway, when I responded, they all replied we’re not interested. 

Now we all know she energized a lagging McCain.  The base seems to really like her.  And why wouldn’t they?  She’s pro-life.  She’s against sex ed.  She doesn’t believe in global warming.  And she is a life long member of the NRA.  Did I mention she wants to drill in ANWR.  So the base is energized.  I’m watching some of my Clinton backers lean McCain.  I still don’t get that, but whatever.  She’s seeing record numbers at her rallies.  The more she talks, the more I see RED!  Wow, that was a pun and I didn’t even mean to, but hey I’ll run with it.

What amazes me is that the Republicans led by John McCain seem to have over-estimated…or maybe under-estimated the minds and voices of women.  Did they really think that just because she’s a woman we’d all fall in line?  Did they think her winking and “cutesy” “folksy” speak would sway us a bit?

I say, no.  She got some shock value.  She raised some interest.  But ladies, if you are with me here, I’M NOT BUYING IT!!  She stands for nothing I stand for.  She is everything I detest about the Republican party.  Her numbers are tanking, she’s getting nastier and nastier, and I’m still not convinced she knows this country has 50 states!

I’d be curious to see if the polls would be so bleak had he picked a real candidate?!  Or have the American people just had enough?  We have two wars that have no end in sight.  The economy is in the crapper.  The Republican “moral majority” has been racked with scandals.  Does Palin even matter??

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

